My First Bread Baking Experience

My First Bread Baking Experience

On Sunday, I decided to try baking bread for the first time. It’s been on my list of things to do for awhile. We eat A LOT of bread in our house, and that means a lot of processed food with preservatives. It’s also expensive. I knew I could whip up something that was healthier and less expensive.

I used this recipe.

bread dough

I don’t have a fancy mixer, so I go the old fashioned route with a spoon. I didn’t have the agave nectar the recipe called for, so I made it without (it came out just fine). I added the flour in a little bit at a time for easier mixing.

rising dough covered

rising dough

The second step is my least favorite part of making dough: waiting for it to rise! I waited for the original mixture to rise (about 40 minutes) and then divided it into two loaves. I only have one bread pan, so I made one regular-shaped loaf and one flatter, rounder loaf. Then I let them rise a second time.

dogs bread baking

My dogs supervised to make sure I wasn’t forgetting anything. Poe graciously caught most of the flour I dropped off the counter with her face.

Finally, I baked them for 36 minutes at 350 degrees.

baking bread

My anxiously-awaiting-bread face. At this point, I was half-sure I was going to mess it up! There were several failed attempts at making calzones from scratch last year, so I don’t have a lot of faith in my ability to work with dough.

bread loaves

But it all turned out alright! Look at those gorgeous loaves!

fresh baked bread

Here’s the finished product! It’s moist, yummy, and it made my house smell awesome. I was running around the house eating slices with butter last night.

If I were to do it again, I would probably use two loaf-shaped bread pans and let them rise a little longer the second time…they’re not quite the right size for a big sandwich. All in all, I’m really pleased with how they turned out.

Checking bread baking off my list of homesteading skills to learn in 2015!

Linking up at I Gotta Create! and Whip It Up Wednesday.

3 thoughts on “My First Bread Baking Experience

  1. Congratulations! Now a question: do you two enjoy eating spicy food? If so, might I recommend taking your bread recipe to a different level, and adding in copious amounts of chili and cayenne pepper powders? Best eaten when warm, with some melted butter or margarine. Good stuff, homemade bread – it was a hard thing for me to give up when I decided to eliminate gluten from my diet.

    Like

      1. No, I’m one of those ‘in for a penny, in for a pound’ types: if I kept bread in my life, any kind of bread, it would be harder for me to stay away from the things I was wanting to stay away from. So, a clean break for me … I do still enjoy some oatmeal from time to time, though! Also homemade (or at least as much as possible), with locally-made honey, cinnamon and a bit of pure apple juice as flavoring additives.

        Like

Leave a Reply

